Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

Get fit, feel epic: week 2

on September 10, 2012

 

I think I’ve had a good week. Things have not been straightforward as I’ve been away with work but I managed to keep on track overall.

Update on my goals –

  • Lose 8 pounds

My weight has stayed the same this week. Had a discussion and think over my calorie intake and really not sure what to do. More than one person has told me I’m eating too few and I’m wondering if that’s true. On myfitnesspal I’ve got it set up to lose 2lbs a week but I’m debating changing it to 1lb a week and upping my calories. Overall I’ve been good. I’ve stayed on target and balanced out the one bad day with fewer calories on two others.

  • Attend at least 2 exercise classes a week

I got scuppered by going away Wednesday-Friday. I managed one class on Tuesday but not been able to go since (can’t go at the weekend as the kids are around).  Nothing to stop me going to 2 or 3 this coming week though.

  • Complete three craft projects

I’ve very nearly finished the patchwork quilt I’ve made for my sister in law. Sadly I missed her heading to university this week (blaming that work trip again!) so I’m not entirely sure when I will get it to her. It is likely to be finished this evening once I’ve finished this post. Plans already made for the next projects to keep me on track.

  • Complete the daily ab workout app at least 5 times a week

Managed 4 times. I’m finding this easy as its only 5 minutes, done quickly in the morning before I get in the shower. I’ve also redone all my measurements this week to see if I lose any centimetres over the 8 weeks.

  • Track daily, and track honestly

Yes – feeling very happy with this. I’ve got back into the habit of meal planning each morning. Dinner is tracked first so I know how much I have for the rest of the day. I used to do this with weight watchers and it worked then so hoping getting back to good habits will help.

 

The weekly challenge was to do something that made you feel fabulous. I’ve done a little bit of shopping. Firstly I got myself the Great British Bake Off book. I’m loving the current series and watch each week thinking I really should be more adventurous with my baking.

 

 

I also managed a trip to my favourite fabric shop in Birmingham. I was restrained and for the first time left without any fabric. I did buy to patterns though. I’m planning on making some clothes for myself and got the patterns for inspiration – hopefully something will be completed in the course of this challenge. I have a habit of buying patterns and fabric and not actually completing or even starting.  I am determined that this will not happen this time!

 

I’m now looking forward to a ‘normal’ week after the school holidays. I haven’t worked a full week for a long time. Although that sounds good it creates problems at work so I’m keen to get back to normal and get myself sorted out!

4 responses to “Get fit, feel epic: week 2

  1. With calories you’ve got to do what feels right and works for you. Everyone is different. I wouldn’t advocate going under 1200 calories a day. If you’re still feeling hungry on your calorie intake at the moment up it a little and see if you still lose weight.

    Have fun with the baking and post lots of pictures of your yummy creations.

  2. Lisa says:

    I love that you’ve added crafting as one of your goals – things that make you happy totally contribute to your health!

    Good luck on the challenge!

  3. You very often come in UNDER your calorie goal as well, think of the goal as a minimum not a maximum 🙂

  4. plumpetals says:

    It may take a bit of time to get used to your calories. Sometimes it takes 1-2 weeks for the body to adjust. I’d suggest sticking to your plan for at least 2 weeks before making any changes.
    Good luck with week 2 🙂

Leave a Reply

