Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

Get fit, feel epic: Week 1

on September 3, 2012

 

I’m busy with a home organisation challenge and decided to go the whole hog and sign up for a fitness challenge at the same time. My weight loss and exercise has plodded along over the summer. Its not awful but its not good either so I decided to sign up to give it a bit of a kick start and to get some motivation and encouragement from like minded people online. The challenge is being hosted by my lovely friend Becks at Weight Wars and runs for 8 weeks. There is also a prize on offer – a fitbit. I have to confess -this is a major motivational factor and I predict that I am likely to buy myself one in the coming weeks.

Part one of the challenge is to set 5 measurable goals. After much deliberation I have settled on –

  • Lose 8 pounds
  • Attend at least 2 exercise classes a week
  • Complete three craft projects
  • Complete the daily ab workout app at least 5 times a week
  • Track daily, and track honestly

 

I am getting into exercise after joining a gym a couple of months ago. I’ve decided that going to the gym doesn’t really do much for me. I don’t enjoy it and I struggle to stay motivated and stay there (the steam room and sauna start calling me within 20 minutes of arriving). I find that if I go to a class I enjoy it and I stay there for the full hour. I usually play safe with aquaerobics or pilates but this week I decided to take a gamble with a couple of higher energy classes. On Tuesday I went to legs, bums and tums and didn’t really like it. It hurt, a lot. It did put me off for a few days. On Friday I decided to get back onto it and went to dancefit. It was the same instructor as Tuesday (initial horror) but I loved it.  I never knew I had an inner street dancer but I seriously enjoyed myself. Sadly the class is at a time that I will not be able to regularly go and the only other one on the timetable is on a day I work 😦 Samuel starts preschool next week so I will have Tuesday morning to myself and I have decided that I will be going to a class. Initially I’d planned yoga but now I’m going for it! My choice is either body combat or zumba. I’m going to give both a go and see what I feel. My biggest battle will be deal with my self-consciousness!

 

 

3 responses to “Get fit, feel epic: Week 1

  1. Love that picture about goals, that’s fantastic! Thanks for joining in and I can’t wait to see how you get on.

  2. S.N.S says:

    What a pity that the class you like is on at an inconvenient time. I hope you find another one you enjoy as much.

    Best if luck with the challenge, I can’t wait to see how everyone gets on:)

  3. plumpetals says:

    I love both Body Combat and Zumba classes. Both are a lot of fun and you get at least a 550-600 calorie bur per class! Hope you find something you like. I’ve joined the challenge too. Looking forward to reading about your progress 🙂

Leave a Reply

