Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

Progress not perfection

on March 25, 2012

I’ve not had the best week but it could have been worse. I’ve been away from work with a chest infection and study leave and its given me a chance to stop, think and breathe and its left me feeling a bit more positive.

I had an email yesterday with the subject ‘progress not perfection’ and it made me think that yes, things in general are heading in the right direction. I may feel that progress is slow at times but ultimately all is good.

So the positives….

Samuel is getting better. His rash looks horrendous but in himself he’s fine.  He’s been ill for a week and it didn’t cause the usual drama and fall out of not being able to go to nursery. We coped. All is good, other than the really manky hands.

I’ve started to organise coaching through work. I’ve been putting off making the arrangements as I felt I was too busy to go to the meetings in the first place. I know deep down though that this will be a positive and long term helpful thing to do so I’m getting it all sorted out.  I’m also working hard at thinking about what my long term objectives are.

I’ve booked an appointment to get my hair cut this week and I’ve spent money on clothes for myself (gasp in horror)

My essay is very nearly finished. I’m not totally thrilled with it but never mind. I’m already conscious of the next one (due in May) and intending not leaving it as late.

The clocks went forward last night so the evenings will be lighter. I’m planning on getting back into running. I haven’t run at all since my 10k last summer so need to do something drastic. I’ve downloaded a couch to 5k app to get me started. My diet has also gone out the window as I was eating rubbish as I was feeling miserable. By some miracle I’ve only put a pound on. Line drawn, start again, back to point counting tomorrow.

 

The weather has been lovely for the last few days which always helps my mood. We’ve been busy in the garden having a tidy up and putting a bit of colour in. I’m not a natural Percy Thrower and part of me begrudges doing all this work when it’ll need doing all over again very soon. Gardening is not high on my list of things I enjoy doing and when I do put in some effort its a bit sporadic. I have to remind myself that there aren’t any stinging nettles in our garden any more. We used to battle with them over and over for years and we’ve managed to keep on top of it for the last three years. I just need the time to put the pretty things in now. Getting rid of garden waste is a bit of an issue for us so I’ve decided to get an incinerator – our garden is so small I’m scared of having an open bonfire. I do run the risk of becoming a pyromaniac though and burning whatever I can get my hands on.

Finally, I’m feeling better. No headache since Tuesday and my cough is disappearing. I’m feeling more human. I’m still on my caffeine free stint. Physically I’m not 100% but mentally things are much better!

 

One response to “Progress not perfection

  1. April says:

    I like this Keep Calm Poster. I have gained six pounds in the last few months. I have got to stop stress eating! Hope you have a super week!

Leave a Reply

