Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

Start of the Happiness Project

on December 28, 2011

 

Time for another attempt at a blogging project. Weekly posts were becoming a struggle again so I’ve jumped into a monthly challenge.  I’m taking part in Weight Wars Happiness Online which is based on the book ‘The Happiness Project‘. I have read the book and confess it didn’t do a huge amount for me so I’m hoping that doing it myself will make it feel more practical!

Firstly, I have to think of commandments that are the guiding principles for the project and life (this all felt a bit daunting!) So, I’ve had a look online and pinched some inspiration from others but here are my commandments

  • Let it go
  • Accept the chaos
  • Do one thing at a time
  • Clutter breeds clutter
  • Be the change
  • Baby steps
  • Action, not reaction
  • Deeds, not words
  • Strive for excellence not perfection

Next, are the rules of adulthood. These are simple things that you’ve learnt in life (but the ones that I usually forget).

  •  It’s okay to ask for help
  • Eat better, eat less, exercise more
  • By doing a little bit each day you can get a lot accomplished
  • People don’t notice your mistakes and flaws as much as you think
  • Stop, think. It’s probably not that bad
  • Saying no doesn’t mean I am a bad person
And so, using these thoughts above I have to make five resolutions for January all linked to ‘vitality’. Each resolution has to help give me more energy (feel tired just typing that).  I’ve been thinking of things to do over the next year and as usual thinking of huge projects that realistically I will not achieve due to a lack of time and energy. So with commandments in mind and looking for little things I am starting with…..
  • Take my supplements each day
  • Journal twice a week
  • Sort the paperwork/shredding mountain in the kitchen (15 mins a day in the Flylady style)
  • Eat more healthily
  • Go to bed early one night a week
I’m pleased January is starting off with vitality. Life has been mad for the last five months for various reasons – both at home and at work. I’ve been putting off lots of things due to busyness and constantly saying things will be better when it all calms down. There isn’t really any end in sight to the mania so I am starting January by accepting that the chaos is here to stay and I just have to get on with it.  I have to make the effort to go out and do the things I want to do.

2 responses to “Start of the Happiness Project

  1. greenman101 says:

    Good luck Karen, i like the early night one, this may help you to refresh once a week 🙂

  2. PlumPetals says:

    ‘Let it go’ is my overall theme for the year … such an important thing to try and accomplish! There are quite a few things on your list that I could have added to mine too – so much to do!!

    Stopping by from The Happiness Project 🙂

Leave a Reply

