Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

2011 Resolutions Update

on December 28, 2011
I’ve found last years list so have decided to have a review / tick / culling session –
  • Do more on folksy – add 3 new items a month 
Miserable fail on this one. Have not added anything in the last year. I’ve decided to mothball this idea for the foreseeable future (that’s not a never though!)
  • Go to EuroDisney (and arrive this time!)
Yes! Managed this one in May
Image
  • Keep a journal
I’ve been sporadic throughout the year. When things get bad I go back to my journal to just get all of the thoughts out of my head. Journalling has been discussed as part of my fellowship and I know I need to journal and reflect on a serious basis. I struggle to do it regularly and I feel I also write things down without asking ‘why’ and getting to the heart of things. I’m making this subject a priority for January.
  • Blog at least once a week
Initially I thought I hadn’t achieved this but again its been sporadic but nearly 50 posts over the year so not tragically off the mark. I’m looking at online blogging projects to help keep my momentum up and keep me going next year. I also hope that the journalling habit unleashes amazing creativity in me but being realistic it won’t!
  • Make a list of UFOs (unfinished objects of a creative variety) and finish them
Another craft-related fail. I’ve done very little sewing this year. I gave up going to Stitch and Bitch as I was struggling with going every week due to tiredness. I’ve joined the WI as a compromise as a monthly evening out that keeps my hand in with creativity.
  • Learn to meditate
Not managed this. Still want to though and will keep looking for a course. Will go and google the Buddhist Centre now……
  • Decorate our bedroom
Yes! Still needs the finishing touches – Christmas presents helped here 🙂 Needs some shelves and sorting but the difficult bit is done
  • Think less (I know this sounds woolly – I know what this means to me!)
Yes! Promise I have done this. Wobbled lots around November but now know not to listen to middle grade registrars who aren’t qualified to have serious conversations about me that scare the hell out of us all.
  • Spend less time on the internet – have 2 internet free evenings a week in January
Fail.
  • Finish thinking of 101 things for my dayZero list
Still not there. I think I’m on 80-something. Will keep going. January is always a productive 101 month for me.
  • Complete 25 things on the DayZero list
I did well this year. 16 completed and more in progress. I’m enjoying this project. Feel the countdown is looming already though.
  • Send 365 postcards (random – why did I think of this?!)

Why, why why? Gone, dead, forgotten. Never will be seen again.

So where will 2012 take me? Will definitely be thinking about this over the next few days and do a post.

One response to “2011 Resolutions Update

  1. April says:

    I totally need to think less!!!

Leave a Reply

