Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

Fire Up For Fall – week 2

on September 25, 2011

Weight Wars

It feels like I’m writing this far too quickly but I was shamelessly late with last weeks post. So here we go (remember positive picture!!!)

 

1. What have you done this week to help you achieve your goals?

Lose 10lb –  nothing on this. Just had too much on, an empty freezer and the sort of tiredness that makes planning and cooking meals feel like a marathon. Day one starts tomorrow. Back on track with the food diary and doing the food shopping this week so will go with good saintly thoughts in my head.

Declutter the offending hotspots – babysteps all the way on this. We’ve just had our bedroom decorated so that helped a major declutter of our bedroom – 4 bin bags gone. My side of the bed is now clear and I am determined to keep it clear. Last night I started work on the next spot – our landing. I don’t iron so our ironing basket lives there (full of clothes) permanently – NO MORE! Was very disciplined last night and cleared it *warm fuzzy snug feeling that I am ashamed is related to ironing*

(This photo confirms my thoughts that we need to get the carpet cleaned!)

Use the car less, walk more – feeling happy with this one. I am determined to walk more to save money on diesel and to help lose weight. I will not drive to school – its a 10 minute walk. My neighbour thinks I am mad that  I chose to walk in the rain when my car is sitting on my driveway. I’ve started wearing my pedometer again and I find just wearing it makes me conscious enough to walk more. Yesterday I did 9,000 steps which is lots for me, a more realistic 3,000 today.

Make 3 Christmas presentswasting time on pinterest planning hard for this one. Several ideas which I will start on now rather than leaving it far too late as usual.

Cook 3 recipes from my Greek cookbook – only decided on this one tonight. I got this book for Christmas and have not used it as much as I wanted to. Will get it out after finishing this post and plan a meal for this week.

2. What have you done to make yourself feel fabulous?

The new curtains arrived for our bedroom. Simple but I’m happy. I’ve wanted to redecorate our room for a few years so now its done I am very pleased. Still lots to do but its coming together well

3. What is your talent? What are you good at? {Genuinely, EVERYONE has
something big or small}

Trying new things, multitasking, crafty things, wasting time online, worrying about things that really aren’t that bad, being a mum.

4. What’s been the highlight of your week, toot your horn, what are you
proud of !

Getting that oh so scary opportunity at work. All helps towards the long term goal of a dame hood 😉

5. Fun Question: What’s your guilty pleasure TV?

Casualty (although last night I got cross, again, at its total lack of realism), love Spooks and so sad its finishing. Also at the moment I love Great British Bake Off – have even got Steven hooked on it. I sit and watch, knitting, and planning lots of fabulous cooking that I never manage to do.

Wondering if this post is as long as it feels……

Positive picture

5 responses to “Fire Up For Fall – week 2

  1. Becks says:

    Love the bedroom redecorated! It looks gorgeous 🙂

  2. cayliem27 says:

    Love that positive picture!

  3. Tim says:

    I love my pedometer. It’s really encouraged me to walk a lot more. I used to get the bus to and from work but now i’m walking 3 miles each way which has helped me so much in losing weight.

    Great post!

  4. Mary says:

    I can’t wait to see what recipes you try out in your Greek cookbook! And bravo on deciding to walk regardless of neighbors or weather. May next week slow down……

Leave a Reply

