Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

Fire Up for Fall: week 1

on September 20, 2011

Weight Wars

1. What are your goals for the Fall Challenge? (List your 5 or more goals)

Lose 10lb

Declutter the offending hotspots

Use the car less, walk more

Make 3 Christmas presents

2. Why have you chosen those goals?

I’m trying to challenge myself but in a way that is practical and useful! If I feel more benefits from doing them then I’m more likely to stick with it. I was tempted to repeat some of the summer ones but that would be a bit too easy for me ūüėČ

3. What have you done this week that’s made you feel fabulous?¬†

We had our bedroom decorated this weekend. I’ve been wanting to do it for 3 years so feeling very happy that its done. Waiting for the curtains to arrive before I do the official photos so will share soon. Oh, and if anyone wants ideas for Christmas presents we’d like bedroom things in duck egg blue, brown and cream!

4. What do you think will be your biggest challenge in reaching your goals?

Maintaining momentum when things are busy. Life has been hectic for the last two months for various reasons. As much as I convince myself it’ll soon calm down its not. I’m feeling positive though and not too¬†stressed¬†(exhausted, but not¬†stressed). I have a habit of easily feeling overwhelmed and getting a bit doom and gloom so I’m making an effort not to fall into that trap.

5. Fun Question! Where in ¬†the World do you live? What’s amazing about it?

I live in Northampton which almost in the very centre of the UK (depressingly far from the coast). I’ve lived here for 9 years. Its not a bad place – I can think of better and worse places to live. ¬†Historically, Northampton seriously upset King Charles II in the English Civil War. ¬†He decreed that Northampton would never be allowed to be powerful and its rumoured that this is part of the reason Northampton has never been given city status (the connections to Princess Diana don’t really help the town with the royal family either!)

The bus station was branded as one of Britain’s worst buildings in a tv series a few years ago. Its true – it is awful. The inside is far worse than the outside!

I suddenly realised I had forgotten to include a positive¬†picture¬†so have updated! ¬†I started the last challenge with a photo of my children and that seemed like a good place to start this time. ¬†Eloise started school last week. I’m finding it hard to believe that my baby is old enough to be going to school. She is loving it though.

2 responses to “Fire Up for Fall: week 1

  1. Kris says:

    I like your goals, especially the decluttering one! I need to work on a few spots too…

    Northampton sounds a little like where I live – the exact centre of the country, not really special or important… just kind of there.

    Good luck on the challenge!

  2. Inky says:

    Nice goals! Looking forward to seeing what you make for your Christmas presents.

    That does look like an abysmally miserable building.

Leave a Reply

