Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

Plum and Cinnamon Jam

on August 21, 2011

Yesterday morning I did my usual trick of dragging the kids down to the library to kill some time. On the way home we passed our local allotments and it was their open day so we went in for a bit of a nose.

They had a stall selling fruit and vegetables at ridiculous prices. I managed to get a weeks worth of vegetables and 4lb of plums for less than £5. The glut of plums meant I have had a very busy morning.

So to start, plum and cinnamon jam. I made a batch last year and had issues with it not setting. You have to use a spoon to get it out of the jar but it still tasted gorgeous so I decided to have another try.

 

 

  • 1kg plums
  • 1kg white granulated sugar
  • 10cm cinnamon stick
1. Cut the plums into halves, removing the stones
2.  Finely grind the cinnamon (this was more difficult than I thought and ended up throwing it in the food processor)
3. Put the fruit into a preserving pan with 250ml water, sugar and cinnamon. Cook gently over a moderate heat for 10-15 minutes until the sugar has dissolved.
4. Increase the heat, bring to a full rolling boil and cook for 3-5 minutes until the jam has reached setting point.
This is where I hit the same problem as last time. It just did not want to set. I kept boiling and testing and nothing was happening. I had a bottle of pectin in the fridge so threw half of that in and it made no difference. I really do not know what I am doing wrong. Maybe jam is not my forte. Tastes alright though. Everything I read says plums are full of pectin so set far too easily. Just not the plums I buy!
Recipe taken from Jams & Chutneys by Thane Prince
One response to “Plum and Cinnamon Jam

  1. This will win you a gold metal at the WI!

Leave a Reply

