Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

Beat the Heat – week 7

on August 15, 2011

Evening all. I don’t really feel raring to go this week. Been busy with nothing much. Feeling happier but battling against a desire to sleep uninterrupted for 3 days. Uninterrupted sleep for 8 hours would be wonderful – I’m not asking for much.

1.       What have you done to help you achieve your goals?

Nothing specific to report. I lost another 2lb so motivation still high (she says eating a muffin). I’ve done the edging on Jack’s quilt and got that all sandwiched up so need to get it quilted this week.

2.       What have you done to make you feel fabulous?

I had this wonderful idea for me to take the kids to pick blackberries yesterday. Sadly it turned into a long and wingey trip with few blackberries. I have a secret spot over the other side of the field at the end of our road. Like and idiot I’d forgotten about the stile and couldn’t lift the buggy over. We had to stick to the main footpath and there wasn’t much left. Anyway, getting to the point, I’d planned on making a batch of bramble jelly but the pathetic amount of fruit meant this wasn’t possible. Eloise harassed me to death and we ended up making muffins which were lovely if I do say so myself. Just praying no-one finds my secret spot before I can get down there alone.

3.       If your house was on fire, and you could grab ONE thing (outside of people and your computer/laptop, they are all out) what would it be?

Does the cat count? No way I’d leave him. I also have a box under my bed where I keep all the sentimental stuff for the children – first cut of hair, umbilical clamp, hospital bands, consent forms (!) the usual things. I think I’d go with that as its easy to grab.

4.       Tell us about your blog. Treat it like a book, what’s happened so far?

It all started a bit dark when I wasn’t a happy person, trying to get my head around Samuel’s heart but things have cheered up. I’d like more creative stuff in here as well but time just doesn’t let me. I think it reflects lots of things like my life – too much going on to have a proper direction!

5.       Fun Question:  Tell an embarrassing story about yourself. No dodging.

Firstly, I keep reading that last bit as ‘no dogging’ – not sure how that reflects on me. I would just like to clarify I have no embarassing stories regarding myself and dogging.

Really do not want to share mine. It involves me, IBS, a traffic jam on the Dartford Bridge (the day we didn’t get to EuroDisney in the snow) and one of Samuel’s nappies. You can fill in the rest as you like.

Positive picture: this was emailed to me this morning. It was timed well at the start of a slightly manic week.

Leave a Reply

