Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

And the miserable mood continues…

on August 5, 2011

So I was in a bad mood yesterday.

This morning we were woken by our neighbour at 7am who said we needed to have a look at our garage.

Steven’s scooter has been stolen and our garage door wrecked in the process.  Its the second time his bike has been stolen (last time was outside of work) so we know the hassle and inconvenience that this means. Its not the end of the world but just something we could do without thank you very much.

So far so good with the insurance. Someone has been out to secure the door and a new door will be fitted next week. The door was knackered and we needed a new one so this cloud does have a bit of silver lining.

The police have been but no sign of the bike. Last time it was found in a park having been joyridden by a group of kids. We’re guessing the same has happened again and if it is found it is likely to be a write off. Steven is clinging onto the hope that he will get a new bike out of it.

I was contacted by nursery today. They agree that their policy is unclear and that the way it is currently written gives the potential for me to interpret it as I did. As a result they are re-writing the policy. Whilst they understand my point of view, they are adamant that the minimum attendance should be across two days so they cannot accept my request.  The policy does have a clause for exceptional circumstances which they feel is met by his health issues.  As a compromise, they will continue to have Samuel for one day a week until he is due to change rooms in November. They feel that the transfer to another room will be unsettling and then the one day a week will become an issue.  I was told that they are not necessarily refusing to continue that arrangement but they strongly feel it will not be appropriate.  It was suggested that having a secure arrangement until November would give me time to make alternative arrangements if I needed to.

I spoke to Steven who is adamant we remove him from nursery on principle. He’s irritated me as it seems so black and white to him and an easy decision to make.  I’m the one who is looking for a new nursery with heavy heart and I really really do not want to move Samuel to another one.  His happiness is more important to me than my principles. Steven is not agreeing with this position.

I have some ideas and potential solutions so will mull this over at the weekend and hope I wake up with a decision that feels alright to both my heart and my head.

On top of this I have a urine infection. It’s my usual sign that I’m run down. Despite drinking three litres at work today it seemed to be getting worse so I admitted defeat and went to the doctors on the way home. I’m putting my faith in a box of trimethoprim that I have a better weekend. Also sick of cranberry juice already.

 

One response to “And the miserable mood continues…

  1. Jeez, what a week… hope this coming one is treating you better.

Leave a Reply

