Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

Beat the Heat – week 5

on August 2, 2011

Weight Wars 

Another week! Had a totally rubbish day that has thrown me into panic and I really couldn’t be bothered posting but here I am pulling myself together!

 

1.       What have you done this week to work towards your goals?

1. Achieve a better work/life balance

The source of today’s trauma. I thought it was all sorted – the official forms have been signed and submitted and all plans in place. Gave notice to my childcare provider to reduce Samuel’s hours and they have declined it. I’m very upset and could write a long post on this alone. Essentially I am left with two choices – remain full time at work and make no changes or find a new childcare provider in 6 weeks. Neither option is palatable hence my upset.

2. Get back into reflective journalling

Still working on this and finished and submitted my application for the clinical leadership fellowship on Friday. I felt so confident with the application form and then I had to do a numeric reasoning exercise. It was very grim. Lost confidence there.

3. Run once a week

Nothing. Will ditch this one!

4. Learn to meditate and/or relax

Nothing done here either but will stick with it.

5. Complete 3 things on my DayZero Project

  • Have booked someone to come and decorate our bedroom (September)
  • I got a plumber to fix the toilet (its only been 3 years!)
  • My new laptop arrived at work last week when I was off sick. It’ll be up and running on Thursday when the IT man comes back to see me (woo!)
  • I’ve rejoined Sainsburys diets to get back to my goal weight as I’ve recently lost the plot
  • 8 books added to bookcrossing – just need to release them this week

(Feeling very productive for this goal!)

6. Complete one sewing project (regain my sewing mojo)

A very successful days sewing last Tuesday. Still waiting for the baby to arrive so I can finish it off – I’m getting impatient now! I also went to the Bramble Patch with my sister at the weekend. That always helps to be a bit more productive. I bought a charm pack to do a quick and easy project. Just need to decide what.

2.       What have you done to make yourself feel fabulous?

Had a lovely day on Sunday with Steven and Samuel (Eloise is away with my Mum and Dad this week). Just a simple day mooching around Ikea and then dinner.

Also have cleared the dumping ground down my side of the bed. I’ve promised myself I will not dump there again and so far so good. I got some new storage boxes in Ikea to help sort out under our bed but had a minor disaster there – I measured them in Ikea and they grew 2cm on the way home….gggrrrrr.

3.       How are you finding your goals this challenge? Do you still think you can achieve them?

Yes – feeling good. Tackling the DayZero list is going well and getting into the others. I still feel time is on my side so motivation remains high!

4.       Freebie! If you want to change one goal change it. Explain your decision even if you don’t change any.

Yes – I’m going to forget about running once a week and chose another weight loss or food intake related. Not sure how to quantify it yet. I’ve just slipped into eating total rubbish and lots of it. I weighed myself yesterday and I now weigh more than when Samuel was born. Yesterday was day one of being good. I’ve joined sainsburys diets for 3 months which works on just basic calorie counting so intend to stick to that. I find just keeping a food diary is a huge help. Will decide on a quantifiable goal this week.

5.       Fun Question: If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be? Your funds are unlimited!

We’ve always fancied Cyprus. A nice blend of Greece and Britain, not too far from home, warm all year round, vineyards, beaches, mountains and mezes (never underestimate the mezes!!!)

My positive picture: needing  a hug today and this is from a book that Samuel is currently obsessed with

One response to “Beat the Heat – week 5

  1. Becks says:

    Oh my I adore Lost and Found 🙂 Hope you sort the childcare thing soon.

Leave a Reply

