Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

Baby jelly roll quilt

on July 26, 2011

So another day off work sick so I decided to be productive and do some sewing. My sister in law’s baby is due any day now and I haven’t finished the quilt I promised her.

The last big quilt I made was from a jelly roll and it converted me. It comes together very quickly, much less cutting and faffing and I like the range of fabrics that you get all in one place. I bought this book

and my aim was to make this quilt

I bought a jelly roll and made a start months ago but my heart really hadn’t been in it . The fabric is moda punctuation. I thought it was a bit different but once  I started I’d panicked at who would actually put black fabric in a baby quilt?!

So this was my starting point this morning. I had already done more than I realised so most of the morning was spent pressing and cutting then arranging the blocks. This was not a fun task. I usually make quilts up as as go along and don’t often follow a pattern. At this point I was remembering why. The first row was wrong. I don’t know why and I’m not sure where I had gone wrong. I sat and unpicked the whole lot then had to rearrange the blocks.

So after much muttering and several biscuits I have finished the top

The difference between the dark and light stripes is not as strong as I’d like  (I’d struggled to pick out a good selection) but overall I’m happy. Just need to add a little bit of sashing and the binding. I’m going to wait until the baby is born to decide on which colour to go for.

2 responses to “Baby jelly roll quilt

  1. Mum says:

    Well done you – is your mojo stirring?

  2. Love that quilt. In fact, I love it so much I might have to buy the book.

Leave a Reply

