Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

Beat the Heat – week 3

on July 18, 2011

Weight Wars

1.       What have you done this week to work towards your goals?

I’ve adopted the ethos of slow and steady and pottering along with things rather than screaming in all guns blazing. I think this is working. I’m proud that I’m still here at week 3 and not fed up yet. I even managed to blog on another occasion this week (a rarity!)

1. Achieve a better work/life balance

My change in work hours has been approved. Not entirely comfortable with this for financial reasons. The last 2 months have been a struggle and I’m wondering if I’m mad but have started practical things to reduce costs. Last week at work was good, my diary this week is also the best it has looked in months 🙂 Eloise is off nursery sick today. I contacted my manager and asked for annual leave as I would usually do. She has given me the day as paid carers leave so I’m feeling that’s a good example of a good work/life balance today.

2. Get back into reflective journalling

I’ve found my journal that I started last year and got the book out of the library that inspired me last time. I’ve decided to apply for the clinical leadership fellowship so will use reflection to help put together the application. There’s a fair amount of things to consider when putting in the supporting statement so I think putting it on paper and working through it will be a helpful experience.

3. Run once a week

Not been this week – lol. The kids have been ill and the weather has been very grim this weekend. Have barely left the house!

4. Learn to meditate and/or relax

I went to the library and got a great book

Its very basic and simple but very practical and easy to use. There are loads of quick things in there that I feel I can easily use so will put some of them into practice this week.

5. Complete 3 things on my DayZero Project

Finally got Eloise an alphabet poster for her bedroom. I’ve had a sort out of the list and completed more than I had realised. I still haven’t got 101 things on the list so will try and complete that one by the end of this challenge. My gentle pottering mentality means I’m thinking about a few things at the moment rather than focusing strongly on a couple.

6. Complete one sewing project (regain my sewing mojo)

Not really any further forward on this. I sat and had a knit last night for the first time in months. I started a cabled wrap for myself last year and really want to finish it in time for winter. I’m past the half way point so I think this is an achievable target

2.       What have you done this week to make you feel fabulous?

Nothing springing to mind! I’ve been busy but haven’t been stressed at all which is a nice feeling in itself. I was dreading going back to work as I usually return to too many emails and messages. I hate the voicemail light on my work phone. It gives me a sense of dread and I worry about how many messages are on there. Sometimes I ignore it as I think its better not knowing how many messages are there. I was brave, first think I did was check my messages and was rewarded with a very nice ‘2 messages’. One had been dealt with already so I started off on the right foot.

3.       I wrote about gadgets this week (my fav one anyway), do you have any gadgets that help you to your goals or are you a low tech kinda person?

I sit in the middle. I like my gadgets and would be lost without my netbook but thats it really. Still dreaming of an iphone. I’m sitting and waiting for the cost to come down to something more manageable.

4.       We are half way through the year, what have you achieved so far (in all aspects of life)?

I’ve achieved a huge amount at work – this has only really become obvious to me in the last few weeks. I was concentrating too much on what I hadn’t done rather than giving myself credit for what I had done.

5.       Fun Question: Tell me one of your secrets to achieving goals and living a happy life?

Remember that you’re just as important as everyone else.

 

9 responses to “Beat the Heat – week 3

  1. munchberry says:

    I love that you ended with the picture of (your?) children. Way to recenter!

    That wrap is gorgeous. What are you knitting it up with? I have trouble knitting in the summer for winter time and then get so pissed at myself for not doing it when I COULD be wearing it as I wear gloves to knit. Old gloves

    Kohlrabi is great in disks in salads and in stir fries or in rice/meat mixtures. I make slaw out of it, but with mayo.( not yogurt which was my FAIL recipe revamp. I think I wil post part of that fail this week – the cleaning part. Doing it right makes all the diff.

    • Yes – those are my babies!

      I’m bad at starting and not finishing my knitting. I have bags and bags of unfinished projects. I usually use super chunky wool to try and get stuff done quickly. I’m doing the wrap in a cheap arran that I got off the market but its a multicoloured yarn.

      Thank you for the kohl rabi tips – I’ve never tried it in salads so hope one comes in the box soon!

  2. BEAUTIFUL picture! Really gorgeous!

    And the other thing I wanted to say was about the sewing mojo – haha! I know what you mean. I have three quilts one quarter finished, and three drawers full of fabric. I keep looking at projects in my magazine, vowing to try them, and never getting round to it. What is the point of having a subscription, I ask myself, if all I do is look at pretty things? Maybe I need to take a leaf out of your book?

  3. I know what you mean about that voicemail light! Fear of it led me into some serious trouble at one point, which only reinforced the fear. Now I’m much better about it, thankfully.

    Personally, I’d say not be stressed is an excellent way to feel fabulous. Way to go!

  4. Becks says:

    I love your tip. I think we all forget it from time to time.

  5. Cynthia says:

    Ack the voice mail light! I sooo know what you mean! I try and think about the VMs as a break from thinking on my feet so I don’t freak out. Instead of having to deal with whatever issue at that very moment I take the information and let it process now so I can think up a super clever answer to whatever problem. So IN THEORY the voice mails then become a good thing 🙂

    Does that help? its 50/50 for me. Sometimes it does some times …still dread! But hey, at least you’re not the only one!

    P.S. That sweater/wrap thing is gorgeous and those kids are just pinch those cheeks precious! LOVE!

  6. Jess says:

    I love your response to the fun question!! In becoming a mom, this is one of the hardest lessons I have had to learn!

  7. april2003 says:

    Hello Karen,
    You have inspired me to start a blog, and join in both the dayzero project and the beat the heat, so thank you!
    I’m choosing to go under a pseudonym though, but you’ll know who I am by all the photos of Noah and Faith!
    love
    april xx

  8. Kris says:

    What a gorgeous wrap! I have probably a dozen half finished projects all over my house… currently working on a blanket for a friend’s wedding in September!

    Nice work on the work/life balance – it’s such a challenge.

Leave a Reply

