Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

More work dilemas

on July 14, 2011

So, a mixed day at work.

Firstly, I’ve been told that my application for reducing my hours at work has been approved. Slowly I have been losing my nerve over this decision and worrying over the loss of money. I’m wondering if I just become a hermit for the next few months we can muddle on through.  My attempts to get our monthly outgoings down hasn’t met with great success so I’m going to try and come up with a plan of attack. A list always helps me feel better.

On top of this, an opportunity has come up to apply for a clinical leadership fellowship. It looks an amazing opportunity and just the sort of thing that I have been looking for. Sadly its arrived at a time when I’m desperately trying to cut down on my commitments for my own sanity. I don’t feel this is something I can pass by. There are only 60 places available so there’s a chance that I won’t even get a place but if I don’t apply I’ll never know.

I’ve spent this afternoon researching and sending a few cheeky emails to people to try and get some more information. Also have to tackle the application form in the next two weeks. The examples of previous work done on the scheme made me feel optimistic that  I can do it. I just need to fluff it up with the right leadership language.

My main issue is time management. I really need to work on this and it was suggested that a cut in my hours may be a positive or negative thing when combined with this new opportunity. One thought I had was to take a year out of my masters if  I got a place. Another tentative email that needs to be sent.

So, lots of deliberating needed. A good excuse to have a reflect and do some journalling to sort out my head.

One response to “More work dilemas

  1. mel says:

    hm, that is a tricky decision to make. hope you soon have a brain wave.

Leave a Reply

