Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

Beat the Heat – Week 2

on July 11, 2011

Weight Wars 

My Goals

1. Achieve a better work/life balance

2. Get back into reflective journalling

3. Run once a week

4. Learn to meditate and/or relax

5. Complete 3 things on my DayZero Project

6. Complete one sewing project (regain my sewing mojo)

 

1. What progress have you made on your goals this week?

A really good week this week. I’ve had a week off work so that has definitely helped the work/life balance. Back to reality tomorrow but I’m planning on trying to keep my head and keep calm with it all.  I also took part in the London 10k yesterday 😀 Feeling very proud of myself and something to tick off the Day Zero list.

1. Achieve a better work/life balance
– week off work!
-Trying not to lose my nerve over asking for reduced hours. Money worries are creeping in so I’m tackling it in a practical way and trying to reduce costs where I can
2. Get back into reflective journalling
-Just need to find my work reflective journal! Also will go and get great reflection book back out of the library this week.
3. Run once a week
– Completed 10k yesterday 😀
4. Learn to meditate and/or relax
– Will look into this this week.
5. Complete 3 things on my DayZero Project
– 10k run – completed!
– Contemplating what else to do. Started decluttering so have decided to get rid of my mountain of books and close my readitswapit account. Will put some of these on bookcrossing 
6. Complete one sewing project (regain my sewing mojo)
– Still thinking about this one. My sister in law is expecting a baby any day now and I still need to make a quilt for it. Really should make this a priority but can’t get into the swing of things.
 

2. What did you do to make yourself feel fabulous?

We’ve been away for the week so generally relaxed, drank wine and did lots of things as a family. Because of both of our work patterns it is very rare for Steven and I to get a day off together so it was great to have a week away with the children.

 
3. Did you have a moment in your life where everything changed for you, an epiphany moment, or has it happened gradually?

I have two – my uncle died when I was 16 and I saw this as a time when I grew up. I then when through a similar experience 18 months ago when Samuel was ill and diagnosed with his heart defect. Both were very traumatic but I can look back at the times as a change which was positive for me personally. They changed the way I think and my perspective on life.  This post talks about my most recent one. It is a work in progress but it was kick started then.

 
4. What made you get involved with the Beat The Heat challenge?

I blame Becks! Also have had life coaching in the past and found the small goals a good way of achieving things. I also like it as a simple way to have a quick check with life and refocus on what’s going on. I get caught up in worries or general busyness so I find it a helpful way to take a step back and have a think about things.

 
5. What is your favourite TV Show at the moment?

I’m loving The Apprentice at the moment, sadly it ends very soon though. I also really like Project Runway but the last 2 series haven’t been shown over here (booooooo!)

5 responses to “Beat the Heat – Week 2

  1. Kelly B says:

    Congrats on running the 10K!

  2. munchberry says:

    Run once a week. Oh I ran a 10K! Way to set small goals! LOL My goodness you British women are an energetic lot! Congratulations.

    Start collecting your fabric and you will get in the mood to make that quilt. I love making baby quilts. So soft, pretty and gratifying to see snuggled up in it.

    If I see that you have run another 10K next week… I am gonna faint. And I may just have to exercise out of shame.

    • Please don’t think I normally run 10k – quite the opposite. This race had been planned for months and I don’t want to just stop totally now I’ve done it. I’m not planning on doing any more races – just a half hour potter once a week!

      Thank you for the fabric tip – a good excuse to rummage in my stash!

  3. Kris says:

    Congrats on the 10K. Good luck with the work/life balance – not my strong suit, I tend to let work take over my life!

    I find yoga great for meditation, you may want to check out a class. 🙂

Leave a Reply

