Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

Beat the Heat – Week 1

on July 2, 2011

Weight Wars 

I’ve said it a million times before, I’m rubbish, I neglect my blog and I never keep up with things. I’m getting over that and have also promised myself I will not let my google reader make me feel guilty.  So, I’ve been roped into doing the Beat the Heat Challenge. New challenges and a new focus for the summer.

Its a 10 week challenge where you decide on 5 or more goals to work towards.  This challenge is being hosted by my lovely friend Becks over at WeightWars.

So then, down to business – my goals

1. Achieve a better work/life balance

2. Get back into reflective journalling

3. Run once a week

4. Learn to meditate and/or relax

5. Complete 3 things on my DayZero Project

6. Complete one sewing project (regain my sewing mojo)

 

Why did you pick those goals? What makes them important right now?

They all link into the same thing really. I’ve had a busy time at work since I went back after having Samuel (April 2010). My manager went on long term sick leave and we were under alot a pressure as a team without her. In February I became interim team leader, taking her place on a temporary basis. This was a huge change for me and its now getting to me.  Long term I had always had aspirations for this job but the opportunity arose a little earlier, well a few years earlier, than I had wanted. I’ve taken it on at a time when we are under massive pressure to reduce a big overspend and achieve cost savings on our already too-small budget. Baptism of fire is the phrase I use.

I was having a conversation recently with someone about Myers-Briggs personality types. We went through the process of working out of type at work some years ago. Mine had always fascinated me as it was so scarily accurate. I recently googled it again and found this –

And yes, that is me (apart from the iron – very rare to see me with an iron in my hand). I have always taken on far too much, struggled through all of my commitments and forgotten myself in the middle of it. My latest worry is worrying about things I might have forgotten.  I don’t really want to do this anymore!  I also gave up my sewing group a couple of months ago. This was the only thing I did for myself. I was so tired I rarely went and when I did go I just sat there exhausted with no motivation to do anything. I was sad that I stopped going and really feel I need to find time to follow my own interests rather than let work and tiredness dominate my life.

To survive long term in my new job I felt I had to make some changes. Yesterday I formally asked in writing to reduce my hours down to 30 hours per week. It’ll mean less money but we think we can work around that and I’d rather be poor and happy.

What’s your biggest excuse reason for not doing something and how are you going to stop it getting in the way?

I’m hoping this is a self perpetuating thing. Tiredness and lack of time are my usual downfalls so by tackling the same issue from different directions it should fall into place *crossing fingers*.

Are you a planner or do you go with the flow?

Plan plan plan in a very anal sense. My 2012 diary arrived this week – need I say more? That ISFJ profile backs me up as well!

Fun thing Tell us something that will help us get to know you. Like things you like or a silly story or about your family.

One of my reasons for working less is to spend more time with my two children – Eloise and Samuel. Eloise starts school in September and is beside herself with excitement. I would like to walk her to school and pick her up at least once a week. At present I will probably have to drop her at breakfast club before flying off to drop Samuel at nursery and then onto work.  I went back to work full time when each of them were 4 months old so I never really did the Mummy routine. I want to go to a toddler group with Samuel! So anyway, here are my two –

Right then, I’m now off work for a week (yay!) so we’re going away to my Mum and Dad’s caravan on the coast. I intend to enjoy myself!

2 responses to “Beat the Heat – Week 1

  1. Vicki says:

    Love your goals, I’m going to check out the DayZero Project. Your children are beautiful!

    Here’s my first week post

  2. Cynthia says:

    Yah everyone keeps talking about the Day Zero project I’m so going to have to check that out.

    Your kids are so super cute. I’m glad this challenge is giving me the opportunity to check out your blog. I’m looking forward to reading your updates!!

Leave a Reply

