Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

Time for a challenge

on April 4, 2011

Life's Journey with a Smile

 

I’m still struggling with managing to post once a week and feel I’m drifting a bit. Work is mad and taking up too much time and energy so its time for a shift in focus.  My lovely friend Becks has recommended The Spring Fever Challenge to me (she’s also joining me in the 10k run or I kind of owe her 😉 )

So the challenge. It runs for 12 weeks and  I have to set myself 5 goals. I also have to treat myself once a week and post a positive picture. I also have to answer a set of questions each week.

So here we go!

  • What are your goals for the Spring Fever Challenge?
    1. Run at least twice a week
    2. Lose a stone
    3. Stop eating chocolate in the car
    4. Leave work at work
    5. Look at the positives at work rather than the negatives
  • Why did you choose them?
  • My weight is creeping up and I need to do something to stop putting on even more. I think stress at work is to blame as I’m eating more and more rubbish at work as comfort food. My biggest problem is eating chocolate when I’m driving.  With Easter coming up it would be unrealistic to stop eating chocolate altogether so I think this would be the next best thing.  I need to get  into the habit of running more. Time is an issue so I need to prioritise and make sure I get out.

  • What is your plan of action to make them happen?
  • I’m contemplating joining Slimming World as I need to do something! The work stress is more difficult to attack but I will mull that over. I think this is more important though as I think it’ll help with my eating as well.  I’ve got a training plan sorted for running. I feel I can easily commit to two nights per week but would like to aim for three.

  • What does this challenge mean to you?
  • Its a little but of a re-energiser after the winter and also a quick help to sort out my work situation.

  • Fun Question of the Week: Let’s  get to know each other! What is something most people (er… fellow bloggers) don’t know about you?
  • I hate questions like this and I’m totally useless at them. I have wide feet – does that count?

    And now for a positive picture. I don’t spend enough time doing the crafts I love. I’ve decided my positive pictures will always be crafty things to try and inspire me to do more!

    This week is a beautiful spring charm bracelet I found on folksy by Fairly Girly –

    5 responses to “Time for a challenge

    1. Carissa says:

      Hey! Welcome to the challenge! I like your idea for inspirational pictures! Good luck!

    2. ellie says:

      Do tell, how much is a stone?

      LOVE the bracelet!

    3. Cheryl says:

      What a cute bracelet!
      I’m looking forward to following your journey as you tackle these goals – hopefully we can all accomplish our lists!

    4. Mary says:

      “Leave work at work” is a great goal – I set that one for myself this year, to commit to eight hours a day at the office but have the rest of the day and my weekends all to myself. One of my best decisions ever!

    5. Love these goals. I need to limit my chocolate intake as well! Good luck!

    Leave a Reply

