Purplegerberas's Blog

A rambling collection of my thoughts about life, my children and crafty things

Festival of Quilts 2010

on August 23, 2010

On Friday I went to the Festival of Quilts at the NEC and parted with quite a bit of money! We go for the shopping rather than the quilts. Got lots of bits and pieces to keep myself occupied.

I’m planning on redecorating our bedroom and want to do a couple of pictures for the wall. I want to try out a new technique I learnt using bondaweb and embellishing with hand embroidery. So here are the things for that

I also got some silk rods – I’ve seen a project in Stitch magazine that I fancied trying. Not sure what I’m going to do exactly yet. It’s a make-it-up-as-I-go along project.

Then we saw Amy Butler. At the moment I have a small jealousy-type hatred of dear Amy. Her fabric is gorgeous, her wool range has the most fantastic colours and her patterns are lovely. Too perfect for my liking. Anyway, she was lovely (increasing the jealousy more). The fabric was calling to me so I had to buy a handbag pattern and some fabric. I’ve been buying the other bits and pieces that are needed for it. I’m refusing to mentally keep track on how much this bag will ultimately cost. I don’t care – it will just look gorgeous.

This last photo has no concrete plans as yet. It was just very pretty fabric that I liked so I’ve bought it with the intention of making myself a top.

As well as that lot I’ve got Christmas presents to make. Samuel is getting a taggy blanket – I refuse to pay the money that they charge in the shops! That should be done by the end of the week. A few other bits and pieces as well that I’m planning on tackling sooner rather than later to give myself plenty of time!

2 responses to “Festival of Quilts 2010

  1. memyselfandotherthings says:

    I wish I had your skills with the gold old craftyness, I have to remind myself that I don’t so I don’t start spending money on fabric I don’t use!

  2. Rhonda says:

    Hello, Thanks for commenting on my blog. http://www.lylefamily5.blogspot.com
    I was just checking out your blog..it is very nice. I wanted to tell you that if you ever need a friend or someone to talk to ,I am here. Unfortunately, I am very family with Aortic Stenosis, because of our sweet bug Zeb. Anyways..I hope Samuel is doing well and I would love to hear about him.
    ** Ps I love the quilts..I have zero ounces of craftiness in my body…haha
    Have A Blessed Day,

    Rhonda 🙂

Leave a Reply

